Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am betting almost everyone has been bullied at least once in their lives… and if not, lucky you.

I actually never knew I was being bullied until it was too late and the so called “friendship” was formed. I used to be friends with this girl named Rose when I was in elementary school. I was always friends with everyone, never had a bad thing to say about anyone… which is why it was probably so hard for me to speak up. I still have never told anyone this- until now. Rose was the new girl at my school and naturally I wanted to make sure she had friends right away.

Well we bonded over barbies and these weird bead bracelet things we used to make. It wasn’t very long until our parents became good friends as well. But somewhere things started to change. She became possessive and bossy… Anyways, I didn’t like it and I would try to keep away from her at school and outside of school. It was hard though because our parents would go to one another’s houses and bring us along. I hated it. I would beg to stay home and i started using the “I don’t feel good” card. But, being the horrible liar that I am today- no one believed me and thus the bullying continued.

Oh, I have yet to mention how she used to physically dig her nails into the skin on my arms when she told me to do something. I actually had to hold back the tears that were about to stream down my face each time it happened. I was probably like 8 or 9 when this was happening.

Her birthday party was coming up… it was a pool party at a local hotel. Everyone from school was invited and my father straight up told me I was not allowed to go because there would be boys there. I cried and threw a fit because I knew what would happen the next time I saw her. The Monday following her birthday party finally came- she handed me a loot bag from her missed party… she was obviously pissed. She told me that my parents were coming over that night and she would see me later. GREAT. (sarcasm) I couldn’t wait.

That night, she actually made me bleed she dug her nails in so deep. I had scars on my arms for so long I never thought I would wear a t-shirt again. I hate that I still remember all of this like it just happened yesterday.

One thing that’s for sure though- I’ll never forget the day she told me her family was moving to Nova Scotia. I don’t know what would have happened if she had stayed around any longer… and I don’t want to even think about it. All I know is that I never want to see that thorn again.

